Glossary of LinkedIn Terms

Connections: Connections are the people you are connected to in LinkedIn. You can initiate a connection by inviting someone to connect with you, or you can accept an invitation to connect.

Second-degree connections: Second-degree connections are the connections of your connections. For example, I’m connected to my friend Jane. Jane’s boss is George, therefore George is my second-degree connection.

Third-degree connections: Third-degree connections are the connections of my second-degree connections. So from the example above, George’s connections are my third-degree connections.

Introductions: Introductions are when a third party introduces people who weren’t previously connected. For example, my work colleague Sarah has a work problem that I think my friend Andrea could solve. I introduce Sarah and Andrea through LinkedIn to work on the problem together.

Profile page: Your profile page is the personal page on LinkedIn, where you list your work history, your education, your skills and expertise, groups and associations you are involved with and the opportunities you would like to be contacted about. You can set your profile to allow anyone on the internet to view it, or you can limit access to your profile to other LinkedIn users, or just to your connections.

Recommendations: Your connections can write recommendations for you and you can also write recommendations for them. Recommendations are like job references or testimonials and they add weight to your professional profile, because they can support and demonstrate your skills and expertise.

Now that your familiar with this platform’s terminology you can apply it when using our Getting Started with LinkedIn tutorial.